How to delete/uninstall an iPhone app

Have you ever wanted to delete an iPhone app but didn't know how? This is the right article for you! After reading this, you'll be done before the length of a Snapchat.


Method 1:
  • Locate the app you want to delete. No need to open it; just locate it.
  • Press and hold down the icon of that app. After a few seconds, all the apps in your iPhone will start wiggling and will show tiny "X" icons beside them (except the apps that came with the device itself).
  • If these X's don't show up, scroll on down to the alternative method below.
  • Click on the 'x' to delete the app. Your iPhone will ask you if you want to delete the chosen app.Choose "Delete," if you do indeed want to delete the app and all its data.
  • Press the home button. When you're finished deleting the apps you want to delete, just press the circular button below the touch screen (the "home button") to go back to the normal screen. The X's will disappear and the icons will stop wiggling.
  • Delete it from your iTunes. If you don't, it might show back up the next time you sync your device. Or, if you'd rather, just set up iTunes so that it doesn't sync apps from external devices.
  • You cannot delete apps that came with your device, but you can move them around. Just hold it down and move your finger around the screen -- the icon will drag along with you.

Method 2:
  • Tap the settings button on your home screen. Then select "General" once you're in.
  • Select "Restrictions." If prompted, enter your 4 digit PIN code. If you don’t know your 4 digit PIN code, start guessing. Ask a family member who may have set it up for you.
  • If you can’t determine the 4 digit PIN code, you will not be able to make any changes.
  • Scroll to the Allow section of the "Disable Restrictions" screen. Look for the entry titled Deleting Apps. Slide the button next to it from OFF to ON.
  • Return to the standard method. Now your device is set so that apps can be deleted. Press and hold down the icon of the to-be-erased app and an X will appear in the corner. Click that X and follow the prompts for deletion.
  • In turn, at the same screen there is an "Installing Apps" button. That can be set to ON if you are a parent and would prefer to oversee what your child is doing with their device.